Marriage License Information
Arrangements must be finalized prior to applying for your marriage license, including:
- Your wedding date
- The city, village or township where your marriage is taking place
- The officiant’s name, address & phone number
Where to Apply
If getting married in Wisconsin, you must obtain your marriage license from a County Clerk’s office in Wisconsin
Door County Clerks Office (Rm A113)
Government Center - Lobby Level
421 Nebraska Street, Sturgeon Bay
When to Apply
Both parties must apply together in person at the County Clerk’s Office. The application should be made at least 4 full days prior to the marriage date, as a 3 day waiting period is required in the State of Wisconsin (application day does not count as a day). The license can first be issued on the 4th day, provided it is a business day (closed weekends and Holidays).
Special Dispensation: A 3-day waiting period is required by law, but under Special Dispensation may be
waived for an additional fee.
Marriage Licenses are valid for 60 days from the date issued. (You cannot apply more than 63 days prior to your ceremony or 60 days if waiving the waiting period.)
Marriage License applications are taken BY APPOINTMENT Monday - Friday (excluding Holidays)
Monday - Thursday - 7:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. (on the half hour)
Friday - 7:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.
Please call at 920-746-2200 or email the County Clerk to make an appointment.
** See Application Checklist Tab above for Information required to apply for a marriage license **
Fees: (Cash or check only)
- $100 Marriage License fee (effect Sept 1, 2023)
- $25.00 - Waiver fee
- $20.00 - License reprint fee
Any person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry. If a person is between the ages of 16 and 18 years, the license will be issued only with written consent of parents, guardian or custodian. Parents must be present in the County Clerk’s Office to complete consent forms.
Persons Who May Not Marry:
- Blood relatives who are nearer of kin than second cousin, except when the female is 55 years of age or older, or proof of sterility is provided
- Persons who are incompetent
- A person under the age of 16
- Persons who have not been divorced for more than six months, whether the divorce was granted in Wisconsin or elsewhere.
Officiants: Accredited ordained minister, priest, judge, or other person qualified to be an Officiant, can perform the ceremony (per WI SS 765.16). Neither our office nor the State Vital Records Office is able to confirm the legality of an officiant. If you have a question about the legality of the officiant you have chosen, you should seek private legal counsel.
Witnesses: Two witnesses, age 18 or older, are required, in addition to the person officiating, but do not have to be in the wedding party. If one or both applicants are active Military, only one witness signature is required.
Non-Wisconsin Residents: Marriage in Wisconsin of non-residents is null and void if such marriage would be prohibited in the state of their residence.
Wisconsin Residents - Out-of-State: Marriage of Wisconsin residents in another state is null and void if such marriage would be prohibited in Wisconsin
Arrangements must be finalized prior to applying for your marriage license including:
• Your wedding date
• The city, village or township where your marriage is taking place
• Officiant’s name, address & phone number
Make an appointment to apply for your marriage license
Email the County Clerk
Items to bring along to your appointment:
Certified Birth Certificate (long form) with raised or ink seal issued from County or State.
(No photocopy and NOT a Hospital Certificate or State Notification of Birth Registration)
Valid Photo IDs (unexpired)
Proof of Residency for both applicants: Drivers License, lease, bank statement, utility bill, paystub, etc.
Social Security Numbers
If previously married, Proof of Marriage Dissolution:
Divorce Certificate, Final judgement of divorce signed by a judge, State Annulment or Death Certificate
Correct spelling of parents’ legal names: First, Middle and Last (maiden name for mother)
Cash or Check for license fee (see General Information Tab). NO Credit cards payments.
NOTE: Any documents that are in a foreign language, including Birth Certificates, Death Certificates and Divorce papers, must be translated in English and certified by a translator – No Exceptions.
(See Translation Forms Tab above)
Certified Documents from the Register of Deeds: Birth, Death and Divorce Certificates are available statewide.
Note: Death Certificates previous to 2013 and Divorce Certificates previous to 2016 are available only from the county where the event occurred.
Divorce Judgments from the Clerk of Courts: Copies of final Divorce Judgments are available from the county
where the divorce occurred, or from the Register of Deeds statewide if divorce was after 2015.
Note: Without the required information, a marriage license WILL NOT BE ISSUED
Any documents that are in a foreign language, including Birth Certificates, Death Certificates and Divorce papers, must be translated in English and certified by a translator – No Exceptions.
You can provide your own translation papers along with this Translation Certification Statement
or you may use the documents below for translation.
Door County Judges
Judge D. Todd Ehlers (920) 746-2204
Judge David Weber (920) 746-2280
Door County Court Commissioners:
Attorney Randall Nesbitt (920) 493-0783
Attorney Matthew Pribyl (920) 743-8485
Attorney James Downey (920) 487- 5571
Attorney Jon Pinkert (920) 743-6505
Attorney Jennifer Moeller (920) 746-2482